Tender board highly skilled yet unable to perform

27 Apr, 2014 - 00:04 0 Views

The Sunday Mail

Charles Kuwaza
Mr Kuwaza has been the chairman of the State Procurement Board since the institution was established in 2001 to replace the Government Tender Board. He is also the deputy chairman of the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe board. Prior to that, he served as the permanent secretary for Finance and Economic Development as well as the Ministry of Defence between 1994 and 2000.
He began his career in the civil service after independence.

In 2010, he was appointed chairman of the Zimbabwe Revenue Authority, but refused to take up the post, arguing he could not serve on more than two boards, as stipulated by the law.

Mr Kuwaza is a renowned chess player who has represented Zimbabwe internationally, winning several accolades.
According to his curriculum vitae, he scored a “double A” in Advanced Level Mathematics while studying at Bernard Mizeki College in 1974.

Florence Erina Ziumbe
The deputy SPB chairperson is a senior lawyer of over 20 years standing.
She is the founder and president of the Professional Women, Executives and Business Women’s Forum (Proweb).
She has sat on the boards of numerous public and private companies since 1982 and specialises in commercial work.
She is a holder of a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Zimbabwe.

Ambassador Buzwani  Mothobi
Ambassador Mothobi is also the present Chairman of the Council of the University of Zimbabwe.
He is a graduate of the University of Toronto and the University of Carleton in Canada.
The retired diplomat is the chairman of property developer Zimbabwe Property Investments Limited.

Tinaye Chigudu
Mr Chigudu, a war veteran who served in the liberation struggle with distinction, was detained by Ian Smith’s regime between 1965 and 1975.
After his release, he left the country to study law in the United Kingdom.
Upon his return, he furthered his studies at the University of Zimbabwe and joined the civil service in 1981.
He served as permanent sectary for the ministries of Mines and Mining Development as well as Home Affairs. In 2005, he was appointed Governor and Resident Minister of Manicaland Province. He is also a former chairman of Zanu-PF Manicaland Province.

Steven Chifunyise
Mr Chifunyise is a veteran playwright, arts critic and educationist who also served as permanent secretary in the Ministry of Education, Sport, Arts and Culture. He has served on several boards which include Children Performing Arts Workshop (Chipawo), the Harare International Festival of the Arts (Hifa) and Kingstons.

William Kurebgaseka
Mr Kurebgaseka is a renowned architect who is also the Chairman of the Architects Council.
He owns Harare-based architectural firm Kurebgaseka Architecture.

Simon Pazvakavambwa
Mr Pazvakavambwa served in Government for years.
He rose to become the permanent secretary for Agriculture until his sacking over a scam involving the supply of substandard fertiliser to farmers.

Share This: