Airports Company of Zimbabwe gets first CEO

03 Aug, 2021 - 15:08 0 Views
Airports Company of Zimbabwe gets first CEO

The Sunday Mail

Online Reporter

The Airports Company of Zimbabwe (ACZ) has appointed Tawanda Gusha as its first chief executive officer.

The state-owned ACZ was established in 2020, and its mandate is to, among other things, manage all airports in-country and to upgrade aviation infrastructure.

Mr Gusha has over 21 years’ experience in the aviation sector having worked in many jurisdictions in the Civil Aviation Authority of Zimbabwe (CAAZ).

His immediate port of call includes implementation of the company’s 2021-23 strategic plan, the company’s separation from CAAZ and implementation of the company’s financial plans.

Previously Mr Gusha has worked as an air traffic controller, duty manager, regional airports manager, director of airports and business development a position he has held since June 2016 until his recent appointment.

ACZ board chairman Mr Devnanda Popatlal said the board was confident in Mr Gusha’s track record and work ethic and was confident that his strategic and operational knowledge of the aviation industry will bring valuable and much needed experience to the company.

“Tawanda has demonstrated throughout the years his astute and capability as a business leader who can bring about impressive value creation. We look forward to working with him as the ACZ takes flight into the future, as it seeks to fully operationalize and grow in line with the key national priorities as enshrined in the National Development Strategy 1 (NDS 1)” said Mr Popatlal.

Mr Gusha holds a master’s degree in Business Administration from Midlands State University (MSU), Bachelor of Science degree in Biological sciences and Geography from the University of Zimbabwe (UZ). He is also a holder of post graduate diploma in Aviation management from the National University of Singapore.

Last year Government unbundled CAAZ into two entities to avoid conflict of interest leading to the birth of the ACZ.

The board is chaired by Dave Popatlal who is deputised by Dr George Manyaya. Other members of the board are Rumbidzai Dihwa, Dr Joseph Mabvure, Rumbidzai Dihwa and Sinikiwe Gwatidzo.

Share This: